Skip to content

Streaming Audio to android and custom ringtones.

January 181818, 201220122012

I got to thinking about custom ringtones, I got some nice mp3’s loaded them into my sound program, cut them up, then sent them to my phone. It was tricky getting them into the ringtone folder as that was read only. I had to connect through adb and mount then copy the files to /system/media/audio/ringtones/ .

The problem was the phone speakers are crap and it sounds very tinny so I needed to adjust the .wav file while listening through the phone speakers. Audiogalaxy was one app that let me play mp3’s over wifi but only proper mp3’s not the files I was creating, and the web interface sucked. Then I found Airfoil + Airbubble, this let me stream the audio from what ever program I liked, but its apple so beware.

I just found Soundwire it seems a lot better, you cant choose the app it streams from but it just plays every sound on your computer. Also the latency is a lot lower and there’s adware, not that bad though.

VLC Player: seems to have a couple of clients to run vlc content from your computer, I dont think its a live stream, I think it just sends the files to your device where it runs them. Couldn’t use it with my sound software though.

It seems like vlc player there is a host of UPnP servers that can transfer your file to your phone to play, ill have to come back to them after I get a video player app.

Also havent done bluetooth audio yet.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Constuctive Advice